Allow editing of calendar invitation titles from other people
Previously, when receiving a calendar invite, I could rename the invite so that it was easy for me to quickly see what client was involved with the meeting. Now I am unable to edit the titles, and all of my meetings have similar titles (like GoToMeeting) requiring me to individually click into every calendar invite to see what the real subject of the meeting is.
When contacting support I was told the ability to change calendar invite titles was marked as a "bug" by developers and removed intentionally, but it's made my life miserable to have to constantly open every calendar invite - please bring this feature back!
Stephen P. Fortmann commented
I use Outlook for Mac. I used to be able to edit invites from other people after accepting them (e.g., simplify the title so I could see what it was about in Week view or change the time when I could attend only part of the meeting). Now I cannot edit in any way an invite from someone else. Outlook Help says this was a bug that was eliminated. This is very inconvenient; people put all kinds of extraneous words in titles (some I get are 30+ words and all that shows up in week view is "You are invited to attend ...") Interestingly, I can edit these same events if I log into my company VPN and use Outlook for Windows. I think you should reinstate this feature (not a bug).
Ken Walker commented
Our office works with several vendors who use Google Calendar to schedule meetings, so my calendar is filled with events that show up as only "Invitation: …" or "Updated invitation: …" on my phone. Giving me back control over how my calendar appears on my screens seems like a must. (I question why this feature was considered a bug — Outlook for Windows allows me to edit shared events.)
This feature should be returned, but also improved. Not only should I be able to edit the titles of events shared with me, I should be able to add other information relevant to me — locations, contacts, links, notes, etc. Ideally, it should work the way Google Calendar does, where I'm warned that the edits I'm making will appear on my calendar only, but I'm permitted to make them.