OutlookUservoice_icon_outlook Outlook Feedback by UserVoice

Outlook for Mac

Ability to quote messages with standard '>' marker

Pretty much every mail client I have ever used has quoted mails with a '> ' when replying to emails. Mac Outlook 2016 allows me to "indent" the text as an option, but this seems to use spaces. This is a weird non-standard thing which means I now need to copy-paste my emails into a text editor to 'properly' quote them each time.

448 votes
Vote
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
You have left! (?) (thinking…)
Richard Christie shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

18 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Neal Sofge commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

For reference, this was codified in 2004: https://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc3676.txt

I've been using this style of quoting since the early 1990s, and it's quite difficult to adapt to the "top posting" that Outlook now enforces, even for received mail. This restructuring of the way I think, akin to "The Cognitive Style of PowerPoint," is unwelcome, to say the least.

• Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Emails with quotes prefixed '> ' have the quote mark stripped, please make Outlook show this quotation standard.

It is really annoying and makes me want to go back to Mac Mail, if only everybody in my organisation was using bloody Windows applications.

Agreed that this is a small but necessary feature, the omission of which is completely inexplicable in a modern email client. Literally EVERY other client I've tried, will correctly handle such quoting - clearly indicating quoted text, allowing for users to increase/decrease the quote level, etc.

"joshua.berry"s comment previously is quite telling: A standard quoting style for replies was adopted as an RFC in 2004 … and yet Outlook doesn't support it in 2018. This is incredibly frustrating.